top of page
Writer's pictureSally-Ann Semple

Hmm 🤔

Hey everyone. First of all a massive thank you to each and every one of you that has subscribed to my crazy Vulva Cancer blog and this mad journey I found myself thrown in to - all a massive thanks to the mad itch that wouldn't go away!


I have finally got my Oncology Colposcopy appointment through for March, which is quite remarkable considering my awesome gynaecologist told me this may take up to six months back in December. Now I'm hoping this will still be the case what with the strikes going on at the moment. I've not yet heard anything different so fingers crossed.


This Oncologist Colposcopy appointment is gonna be massive. This is where we find out if I have anything cancerous that may have spread from the high grade squamous cell carcinmoa I had. My amazing Gynae has informed me, as it was such a high grade, and there were no clear margins at all from neither of my operations (both done same day) it's highly likely that the colposcopy will show abnormal cells. Weirdly, a normal smear test won't pick this up, as a smear is only covering your cervix, not the rest of the walls of your vagina internally.

No massive issue though. I'll deal with it when I have too. Shiiiiiit.


I've been getting a bit concerned lately thinking with the strikes this all may be delayed, and I really don't want that to happen. I have been on the 12 week cancer pathway and been treated amazingly. I understand why, but Vulva Cancer is hard enough to go through and get giagnosed with without strikes too.


Anyway, whilst I've been waiting for the dreaded oncology colposcopy to take place, my awesome wrist bands arrived which kind of say it all really. I have most my family wearing them now. They are very cheeky on one side with a swear word "fuck cancer" and round the other side it is very serious with "Vulva Cancer Awareness" all on the same band. Well they've gone off like a rocket. You either love em or hate em marmite like. (I love marmite)


Well, whilst I'm secretly or not so secret now it's on my blog, freaking out about this oncology appointment, I'm back to growing my own fruit n veg, chillies mostly, but I can actually do it without the most awful pain, burning and itching that hindered me and distracted me so much last season. Thanks to the operations so far, I can actually sit still long enough to plant my own seeds to grow my veg, paint my own nails and actually wear knickers of any material! Haha, that may sound really daft, but I couldn't do that last year without that awful debilitating itch! I totally couldn't wear any knickers of any kind I was in so much pain.


Whilst I await the appointment I'm keeping myself busy, boring stuff to most, but now we have a Tomato shortage I'm planting my seeds, without a single itch in sight. Hopefully it will stay this way.




Please Ladies....check your "normal" when you check you boobs, check your Vulva too


Check, check, check.


"Know your normal"


Thank you all once again for reading my blog. I'll update once Oncology Colposcopy tell me more.

Look after yourself ladies.

Sal xx

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It’s that time again….

So, six months have come around way too quickly. Where has this year gone?! After putting my letter in that "safe place", I finally found...

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page