top of page
Writer's pictureSally-Ann Semple

That was Quick!

So, I finally had my Oncology Colposcopy appointment today 19th June 2023. Yes it was a month later than I was told it would be, but due to the NHS strikes it was cancelled previously.


So just a brief explanation of what a colposcopy is & why you might need one:-

  • Unusual appearance of the cervix

  • Postitive Smear test results from your GP

  • A detailed examination of the vulva / vagina is required (me)

  • You have been diagnosed with any gynae cancers that require further investigation (me)

So, my Oncologist, Mr Hollingsworth did my colposcopy and checked my cervix and my pelvis - the pelvic exam was quite uncomfortable but he said there was nothing of concern inside me....such a relief! He then checked the site of the Squamous Cell Carcinoma extrernally which is where my cancer was on my perineum.

Although there are no clear margins he told me "at the moment Sally, I am pleased to say you are cancer free" BUT - theres always a but - because there are no clear margins from the cancer I have to go back every 3 months so they can monitor the "margins" in case of any changes.

I am being kept on the "cancer pathway" in case of any changes, as apparently stage 3 squamous cell carcinoma is quite "insidious" and does return in 60% of cases. Obviously, I am hoping I won't be one of the 60%.

So - right now, I am cancer free & after 12 months of sheer hell I cant quite believe it. The operation, the chemo cream, all of it has been horrific.


I have nothing but thanks to my GP who knew straight away what it was and referred me immediatley and placed me on to the 12 week cancer pathway, my gynaecologist who panicked when he saw the extent of my vulva cancer with his solution but removed it & left my lady bits looking fab, and all the nurses along the way, who were nothing but kind, caring and amazing. (Freshly made tea and toast with marmite yum).


I'd also like to say a big thank you to all of you lovely followers that embarked on this journey with me. Your support has been unwavering & very gratefully received. I sincerely hope I won't have to return to my blog again, but I am here for anyone that has been diagnosed with this awful dibilating disease.


My love goes out to all who have been on this journey with me, your support, messages and ears who listened. Love to you all.


I AM CANCER FREE - I MADE IT & KICKED ITS ASS



I will update on my next 3 month checkup which will be around September so keep everything crossed it stays away!


DONT FORGET TO CHECK CHECK CHECK!

KNOW YOUR OWN NORMAL

IF IN DOUBT

GET CHECKED OUT!


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It’s that time again….

So, six months have come around way too quickly. Where has this year gone?! After putting my letter in that "safe place", I finally found...

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page