top of page
Writer's pictureSally-Ann Semple

I’m Still Here!

Updated: Feb 4, 2023

So after the final diagnosis of Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Vulva, I left my gynaes office really unsure what to do next. And yes, a few tears…. I had gone by myself thinking I’d be all good and all clear. As I’d not heard anything, I certainly didn’t expect to be sat there to be told I had a cancer removed from my lady bits. The Squamous Cell Carcinoma, which was high grade and there were no clear margins at all.

I called my husband as I came out the hospital and explained to him what my diagnosis was. I think I was in some kind of weird bubble. It hadn’t sank in. I explained I wanted to call in to my moms on my way home from the hospital to explain to her what I was told. Hubby was cool with that as I didn’t want to tell her over the phone. So I called my mom on her house phone and my head was up my arse so much I even asked if she was home - she answered her house phone. Yeah, don’t ask. I said I’d be 10 mins and put the kettle on. (It’s an English thing and tea solves everything). I arrived at moms, and had to drop the worst news on her ever. Mom was amazing, and really grounded me. The external cancer had been removed, so I had to wait now for my colposcopy appointment to make sure there is nothing inside the walls of my vagina that may be cancer too. After a cuppa and a chin wag I went home feeling a bit happier knowing what was to come was for my own benefit.

….. I’m so lucky to have my mom.


So now I await for my Colposcopy appointment. They are to check the internal walls of my vagina to make sure there is nothing that is hiding in there that may be further cancer. They will insert their little camera and inject a vinegar solution in to me and anything that shows white will be abnormal cells that will need treatment. Hopefully this will be clear but I await my appointment.


MANY THANKS FOR FOLLOWING. PLEASE CHECK YOUR NORMAL.


66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It’s that time again….

So, six months have come around way too quickly. Where has this year gone?! After putting my letter in that "safe place", I finally found...

Comments


bottom of page