top of page
Writer's pictureSally-Ann Semple

Rare Disease Day 28th Feb 2023

Updated: Feb 18, 2023

So, it's rare disease day on February 28th and Vulval Cancer is actually classed as a RARE DISEASE.

Its really not that rare, and it still amazes me that it's classed as that!


Vulval Cancer is only rare because of where it is, and people are afraid to talk about it. It's either misdiagnosed, or just completely ignored. It's usually misdiagnosed as Lichen Sclerosis as the symptoms are so very similar. There are very subtle differences though and these are just not picked up on.


I was treated myself for thrush, and a lot of things just didn't make sense to me. I'd never had thrush in my life, but suddenly I was being treated for it. Clearly we now know I didn't have that. All the steroid creams under the sun even the super strongest didn't work, and this is why Vulval Cancer is misdiagnosed. It's thrush, no it's a water infection, no it's Lichen Sclerosis, no it's an STD, no it's.......and on it goes......


Vulval Cancer is only classed as "rare" simply because nobody wants to discuss private issues with our Marys, and this needs to change. Us ladies need to shout louder, we need people to take notice. Everyone needs to stop being so bloody British and so prudish. We need to shout from the rooftops when there's something wrong. We need to allay the embrassment of our intimate parts. It's the only way!

Tell your partner, tell your doctor, tell yourself. If it's not your normal, then it's not right...


shout it loud if it's not right ...






77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It’s that time again….

So, six months have come around way too quickly. Where has this year gone?! After putting my letter in that "safe place", I finally found...

コメント


bottom of page