top of page
Writer's pictureSally-Ann Semple

Vulva Cancer Stuff To Look Out For…

Hey all. As it was Vulval Cancer Awareness Day, which is weirdly classed as a "rare" I thought I'd share some things to be looking out for on your monthly self checks.


YES, YOU SHOULD BE CHECKING MONTHLY ALONG WITH THOSE BOOBIES LADIES.


So, as Vulval Cancer is classed as "Rare" it's actually really not. It's just not one of the cancers that is talked about or shared. Wether this be due to embarrassment because of where it is, or lack of the medical world not publishing it as much as other female cancers. It is actually one of the main genealogical cancers, as high as 90% that women suffer from it in one form or another. Squamous Cell Carcinoma Of the Vulva is the highest most common, at 90%, so it's not actually very rare. This is what I had and still being investigated for internally, and had removed externally.

It's a very scary diagnosis, which I totally understand having been treated for it myself, and still have ongoing medical investigations yet to go.

At the end of the day, the more we are informed of this horrifically painful, debilitating disease the more help and support will be available to us ladies, and this was one of my reasons for even creating this blog in the first place.


So, anyway, let's get back to why we are here. So there's lots of stuff to watch out for, mine was that awful itch, but it wasn't until later on that I had burning too. I also didn't have any changing of skin colour. I had what I and my Gynae can only explain as an "eczema" like small patch on my perenium, which didn't really cause alarm with anyone. It was quite "rough skin" feeling which was clearly not right as we now know. But that was my case. You may experience something completely different. So here are a few things to be keeping an eye on:


Symptoms of vulval cancer can include:

  • a persistent itch in the vulva

  • pain, soreness or tenderness in the vulva

  • raised and thickened patches of skin that can be red, white or dark

  • a lump or wart-like growth on the vulva

  • bleeding from the vulva or blood-stained vaginal discharge between periods

  • an open sore in the vulva

  • a burning pain when peeing

  • a mole on the vulva that changes shape or colour


The list is not exhaustive. You may have other symptoms. My advice is only one thing. If it's not your normal, please get it checked out. It could be nothing.


I was told I had thrush and all sorts and it wasn't any of those when tested. I was also told it might be an STD, and again, after every test under the sun, they all came back clear.

Be persistent. If it's not your normal, and you are still not happy then ask for a second opinion.



IF YOU ARE DIAGNOSED....

If in the awful event you are diagnosed, as I was, with those awful scary words, Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Vulva, or god forbid worse, then I won't lie to you. The operation is gonna hurt like hell on earth.

You have two choices here: have the operation, then have check ups for the rest of your life as you have cancer in your bloodstream, so they need to keep checking on you every 6 months... or don't have it and it will spread and be fatal. No brainer really.


So, a few tips from after my own operation. Now I had a WLE (Wide Local Excision) and also a Vulval Skinning procedure done at the same time. The skinning procedure is exactly as it states on the tin. It's like a razor taken to your Vulval skin and they "shave" the outer layer of skin off. Yes it's raw, yes it kills, no there's no stitches. The only stitches I had were from removing my perineum 15 of them. Now those dissolve on there own, but you also have skin to heal from the "skinning" procedure, and I won't lie, it hurts like absolute hell.

Now, I'm not wanting to scare anyone, this procedure is vital and can save your life, so if given the choice just do it.


YOU ARE GONNA HURT

Your lady bits "Mary" is gonna hurt like hell the day after your operation. Don't panic.

Take paracetamol and ibuprofen every 4hrs. It's still gonna sting and hurt but this will take the edge off.

Buy a Peri Bottle, you can get them for about £10 off Amazon. You will need one. Each time you pee, use it to rinse instead of wiping. Trust me.

Get some Andrex Washlets the pink pack - most supermarkets sell them. They are just water wipes and totally flushable. These will help keep you clean preventing infection.

If you can't touch your Mary, don't panic, it's ok, use your shower on a cool setting to just rinse yourself after you've been for a wee. I know how much it stings, and that will ease the stinging.

You may bleed quite a bit, don't worry too much. It's a huge operation and your Mary is full of nerve endings so you may bleed for a few days. If it gets heavy or worse though please call your Gynae or GP.


Also Clare at Vulva Cancer Awareness was amazing and there's loads on the website she started that may help you, you can find her site and contact her here:


At then end of the day, don't suffer alone.

There are people out there that can help you, as they did with me.


Here's a few more things to be aware of ladies:






Dont forget...know your normal...check...check..check


Thanks for reading my blog. I hope it helps xx



288 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It’s that time again….

So, six months have come around way too quickly. Where has this year gone?! After putting my letter in that "safe place", I finally found...

Comments


bottom of page